The number of denied workers’ compensation claims has increased over the last 10 years and now exceeds 10%. If the insurance company is going to deny your claim, they are required to file a Notice of Denial with the Florida Division of Workers Compensation. You should receive a copy of the Notice of Denial. However, sometimes the insurance company may wait to deny your claim as Florida Law allows them 120 days to pay and investigate your claim if they are uncertain of their responsibilities.
Some reasons that the insurance company may deny your claim include:
- The application for Compensation was late or incomplete
- Discrepancies between the accident report and the claimed injuries.
- The employee did not seek medical care from the employer’s doctor.
- The injury did not happen at work.
- The employer claims a pre-existing condition
- There were no witnesses to the accident
- The injury was caused by the employee or the use of drugs
- No Medical evidence that an injury occurred
The attorneys at Talbott & Lampert, PA are experienced workers’ compensation attorneys and will provide you a free consultation to discuss your case. Contact us today.